Thursday, January 7, 2010

Poor Experience.....

Recession...Inflation...Rupee Value...Cost Cutting....High Cost of Living... Daily Expenses..... all have certain common strings attched to it.... and currently are of the most relevenat topics for discussion...day to day anxiety and also the reason for stress...

Now i was travelling at about 6.30 from my office to the Station when on a very bad conditioned road...my rick halted for more than fifteen minutes and then...i was about to witness something which kept me in a thought process for more than a hour or so....

The road on which the rick halted was of the type...of just broken and just made up road...nor was it a smooth one...nor a whole.. dug up one... and then there were no street klights..only lights that were there ..... were of the slums ...and the poeple living in those slums..... left hand side was the slum area.... and right hand side...was all construction material... and far long ahead was a huge gutter.... no water line.. no electricity...no light poles...and no bldgs.. no wide roads..etc etc....

but to my amazement....the slum houses of all the people residing over were having certain following items...and were not missed in any of the houses that i had a good view of ...and count that as 4 slum houses...

a 21 inch colour TV with cable...
a room full of Steel utensils....
huge beds...(now that i mentioned ..not clean or bug free... but still)
many many and many of the wooden furniture...like the cabinets...tables...chairs...and diwans...
i mean sometimes i wonder that 2 bedroom flat of mine doesnt have ebnough space to accomodate our furniture...but these people have the best of the place usage...
a gas... and mind you guys i saw two cylinders....
a phone connection in one of the slum house....
and then even one had a dish tv...(wish karo......dish karo.... sharukh really does say that...nai??? )
then wooden doors...for their entry and exit witha loop chain and a lock.... and curtains... and all the 'Decor' for the place called Slum home...

now my mind was continously thinking how do they manage to have all this....not in a sense that how do they buy it or something..... but from where do they get it...and how do they maintain it...
i mean electricity for the appliances.... tv...and etc..
phone lines.... water lines....and the cable connnection etc.....

If they do take it legally...then how do the bills reach these places... they dont even have proper adressess.. or do they :/ ???

how do these ppl pay cable bills...which are like 350 per month or...dish tv registration.... ot they but gas cylinders which are 700 per cylinder...or water connection bills.... or the electricity.... and do even they have water cuts...or power cuts....etc...

I also wondered... how do these people actually mandage eveything the rainy season .....the chilly cold mornings...etc... i mean sometimes i still wonder after having a proper clean legal life...i sometimes feel nothing seems right or.... nthing is in place.... and that something is missing.... even if its just 4 of us living in a proper place...it feels crowded.... sometimes im out of space in my own room.... i lack places to keep things and so on so forth......

Am the one who is missing something..... or is them that they handle these things a little more smartly....!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

A though process still going on and on... in my mind........
Anyways.... hope to observe certain things certain more smartly and answer them.....:)

till then Ciao....

Monday, January 4, 2010

Time Machine Experience....

Please do not follow the title in literal meaning... since neither did i travel the the time ...and neiher did i invent one.... its just that... i had not been well for two long days.... and counting a sunday in it too... it was three days that i had for myself....

The excitement was such that...i wondered what all i can do .... to have a ful time experience of the three days that i had... but to my dismay neither can i leave my nest nor can i go for some outing...nor some sport related activity or any other... adrenaline rush related adventure.....

so here i was ...having a novel at my rescue.... and certain food items at an arms length... a pc of my own...either to connect myself to the 'ET's ' or simply let the world know that im home by changing the status.....

now since im not feeling well... i was not having one of the five senses that a normal human being has.... that was 'TASTE'.. and thus the food items ...at an arms length did not attract at all... and nor did they interest me to do something to them...also while not well with your health you tend to lose concentration and thus reading was not the call for the day too.... now remaining saviour was 'PC'...but to my physical disability of sitting up straight at that time... i did not have a single muscle in my body getting the signal from my brain to sit up straight and do something.... so here i was lying awake in the bed wondering how the three days are going to be.....

to my amazement ( i dont even rmbr if that is a word at all....)... i slept the whole of sunday...and monday...and tuesday.... morning just like that..... i only used to be awake to take medicines... and put some food in my large intestine so that life cycle of my organs are not disturbed and the effects of the medicines act properly..... and only to bathe..... but that actually acted as a catalyst to my sleep and made me sleep more like a baby.......

so here i was thinking while writing this... taht did my body need that much sleep.... meaning was it sleep deprived for so long...?? .... or is it the sickness... or the time has stopped for me.... or is that i have been in a time machine.... that is going nowhere and is steady and giving those precious momments that i always hoped for.....

One thing i also realised during this 60 hour sleep activity was that i neither cared how my office work was handled...by whom.... what was on the news... how was the market doing.... nor what was in the papers..... and how many mesgs did i recieve.. nor how many calls i missed.... i just knew me...my body.... and my good day and night's sleep..... Oh Man.... i think i needed that badly....

Sometimes its not how our body reacts to the extra pressure......or the limit till you stretch you limits.....its how your mind handles the body... somewhere i was fit and fine.... but i wanted to reason to stay put....and my mind played the game perfectly....

Thanks to mind games.... i must say... now im all fresh...and worked... up and a lot more relaxed for the rest of the year and its .... issues....

My mom said that ...a such an incident at that start of the year would mean it would be happening whole year long.... i said 'HALLELJUAH".... and smiled and slept back through....

So all you reading out there..... even if you are all hail and hearty.... just try to woo your mind to fall sick....and dozze up....dozz off....and travel the time...... see how much your body needs sleep... and pass your time leisurely.... your have got 60 hours to beat.... if you do it more.....lets hear about it.....

c ya.... Stay healthy...and let your mind play healthy games that make you fall ill.....

Saturday, October 10, 2009

Doctor in the night

The other day, rather night, when I was returning from office, around 11.45 pm, I was in my own thoughts. As is normally the case, there were very few people on the road at that time. Suddenly I saw a familiar face approaching from a distance. I was trying to recollect the name of this familiar face. But I was not able to hit the bulls eye. Thankfully this gentleman was at a distance when I saw him, so I had time to think... And he too had not noticed me, which gave me all the more time to wake up my sleepy mind and get my thoughts together. By the time we were 5 feet away from each other, I realized that he is my dentist. How often do you find your doctor dressed casually and walking equally casually on the road in the middle of the night??? He still hadn't seen me because there was a group of 3 guys between him and me.

As we reached closer, I said - "Good evening Doctor."

He was startled and said "Hey, hi, good evening. Do you come so late?"

I said, "Yes".

He said, "And you go at 8 in the morning?"

I said, "No. I leave around 10 or 10.30 in the morning. It becomes difficult to go at 8 in the morning and come this late in the night."

He said, "Yeah. Its good that you go a littl late."

I said, "What are you doing at this hour? Taking a stroll?"

He said, "No man. I forgot my dabba in the clinic. And my wife was shouting at me like anything. So I decided to come and take my dabba."

I smiled... It was difficult for me to control my laughter. I smiled, wished him good night and we went our respective ways. After walking a few feet, I couldn't control my laughter. Even a doctor is scared when his wife shouts... :))

Ghar ghar ki yahi kahani...

Saturday, August 15, 2009

Independence Day Celebrations

On Friday, 14-Aug-2009, our HR organized Independence Day celebrations in the cafetaria, since Saturday, 15-Aug-2009 would have been a holiday. I along with my team members went to attend the event. The event consisted of a singing competition followed by a group song by all the managers. All of us settled in a khopche-wala seat so that we would not be disturbed by anyone. The tricolour was distributed to the associates who started waving the flags. The singing competition consisted of group songs as well as solo songs. Along with the singing competition, there were a lot of prizes for the audience too. All the songs were either patriotic songs or were an expression of Indianness.

Since there was nothing else happening, we decided to do something on our own. One of the quitest members of our group, A, led the way. We decided that after each performance, he would shout a slogan and we would complete it. He started with 'Bharat mata ki...' and all of us joined in by shouting loudly - 'Jai...' He repeated it a couple of times. The audience sitting in front of us turned behind to see who was shouting slogans. A, being the shy guy, would keep his head down while shouting the slogans. And we too enjoyed participating in the 'naare-baazi'. We planned to shout 'Vande Mataram' after the next song. Once the second song ended, A shouted loudly 'Vande...' and we followed with '...Mataram'. This happened 2 - 3 times, before the next song could begin. The audience was still surprised to see our group raising slogans.

The fillers between the songs, apart from our 'naare-baazi' was filled by the questions for the audience. Every correct answer fetched us a prize. Soon the third performance began. I proposed to A a new slogan, a slogan that was made famous by Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose - 'Tum mujhe khoon do, main tumhe azaadi doonga...' While my group was animatedly discussing this slogan, I got an idea. I told A to shout the full slogan, and the rest of us would join in saying - '...GE se' When heard in continuation, it would sound like - 'Tum mujhe khoon do, main tumhe azaadi doonga... GE se.' The last part was added since we work in a GE project and it is a well-known fact that associates don't get a release from GE project very easily. So we decided to make fun of that point. The third song ended and we asked A to begin with his naare-baazi. A, all enthusiastic and in full form, shouted loudly 'Tum mujhe khoon do...' and stopped. He immediately started looking at all of us to continue further, but none of us said anything. Infact, we were looking at him to continue. And the audience turned around to see who shouted this slogan - "Tum mujhe khoon do..." And since no body accompanied him to complete the slogan, it was almost like some blood thirsty man is on the loose. Poor guy... He put his head down and kept quite for some time after that. But that was not the end. Another enterprising guy asked him, before the next performance could start - 'Kaun sa blood group hai tumhara?' Poor A. He had no choice but to smile sheepishly. The junta around was still flummoxed. But we had started laughing at A's situation. The sport that A is, he too joined the laughter. We had a hearty laugh for quite some time before we started our 'naare-baazi' again. Soon enough, the others in the audience too were infected by the 'naare-baazi' fever. And they would join us when A initiated the slogans. Or they would initiate the slogans and we would join them in completing it.

All in all, it was a good event with some brilliant performances and the 'naare-baazi' adding the patriotic zing to the event.

Jai Hind!!!

Sunday, June 7, 2009

HP gets married

HP gets married... Well, who is HP? Harry Potter... Naaa. Why would I be writing about Harry Potter getting married. That is best left to J. K. Rowling. HP -> Hindustan Petroleum... Awww, now a company can't get married. Well, HP is a friend of mine who got married sometime in 2005. Now you may wonder - what's the big deal in getting married? Weel, actually there is nothing great in getting married. But what makes HP getting married different is the way he went about finalizing the date of his wedding.

I was in US, when his marriage plans were underway. He was meeting prospective brides, and the prospective brides were meeting him... I would call him regularly, atleast once in a week or once in two weeks. He was one of those very few friends whom I would call up regularly while I was in the US. Once when I called him up, he told me that he planned to get married. I was happy for him. I told him to keep me updated on the progress. I wanted to attend his wedding. One fine day in March 05, when I called him up, he asked me when would I be returning back. I told him that my plans were December 05. He said that he had finalized a girl and that he planned to marry her in November 05 and wanted me to make it for his wedding. I said that it was difficult, but I can surely try, since 1 month would not make much of a difference.

Days passed... rather, days flew by. Sometime in March end, when I called up HP, he told me that he will be getting married sometime in October 05. The date had been rescheduled from November 05 to October 05. He told me that I had to attend his wedding. I said I would try since coming this early would be a little difficult. But let's see what happens. October 05 was a long time.

I called up HP again sometime in April 05. He told me that he was getting married in Aug 05. The plans had been changed and he had scheduled his wedding for Aug 05. I was stunned. I couldn't figure out what this guy was upto. I knew he was not the type to keep changing his plans this often, but sitting so far, I had no way to figure out what was going on in his mind, other than just talking to him. I was like - 'Theek hai... Aug 05 mein shaadi karega... There must be some reason.' Things were going on fine. Life was moving ahead fast, for me as well as for HP.

I again called up HP in May 05. And what he told me this time was more baffling. He asked me if I could come over to Mumbai for a few days in July 05 as he planned to get married in July. I was like - 'Tu kar kya raha hai... Pehle November, phir October, phir August, and now July. Tu itna betaab kyon ho raha hai shaadi karne keliye?' HP replied - 'Yaar ab jaldi shaadi karni hai. Can't wait longer...' And I was like - 'Yeh to gaya...' I told him - 'Boss, July will not be possible at all. But theek hai... I will meet you and bhabhi once I am back.' I did not want to miss his wedding and was feeling bad about it. Even he was not liking it. But then some things cannot be changed. Call it occupational hazards, or whatever. :)

Life was going on. I had HP's wedding date at the back of my mind. Soon it was June. I called him up and what he said had me clean bowled. I was not at all prepared for what was coming. When I called him, I could hear lot of background noise. I could figure out that he was travelling. Before I could ask him anything, he said - 'Partner, sahi time pe call kiya hai...' I asked him - 'Kya hua? Kaisa hai tu?' And he was like - 'I am doing good. Abhi ghar laut raha hoon...' I said - 'Aaj itni jaldi kaise ghar jaa raha hai? Kaam nahi tha kya office mein...' He replied - 'Arre, shaadi kar ke ghar jaa raha hoon...' I didn't know how to react. I have been hearing all the posisble dates that HP had decided on for getting married. But today, he actually got married... Kahan November 05 ka wedding plan, aur kahan June 2005 mein actual wedding. Wow... I had never heard of anyone being so eager to get married... But this guy was not just eager and impatient, he actually rescheduled his wedding so many times just to get married as soon as posisble. And I was sad since I would be missing his wedding... Missing kya, I had already missed it. I called up another friend of mine - MR, and even he was surprised to see all this happening so fast. Even though MR was in Mumbai, yet this was too quick for him to even comprehend. All friends met on his wedding reception which was 2 days after his wedding. I am not sure if anyone asked him the reason for getting married so quickly... But if I would have been around, I would have definitely asked him on the day of his reception. :)

Till I get more details... keep thinking... :D

Sunday, May 24, 2009

why BLOG!!!!

when the style of the blogs started... or i mite say... the trend of the blogs... i usually used to wonder... what is that the one thing that peole find so amusing of writing and keeping it to a constrained number of people... and what sense does it make to write your own thoughts varying from the tiniest little thing to the most controversial opininons of self...

i have read many blogs ranging from personal experiences that are from day to day life like mine... and then some of the blogs of normal looking people having extra ordinary... issues...and views of their own... which conflict with the biggest most influential people and media around... and then there are some where...actually words flow from their heart or mind...
and there are some sort of writers hiding in the closet..trying to make it in this cruel world of competition...
and then there are some like me... who just for the sake of it...come here to express osmething which they usually do not do...and yet want to share it with some audience....

now here i mite say... that i for a regular person... feel good to write stuff out of my mind...and get heard to certain ppl...matering to nothing else.... but a phone call later to discuss this the same.... but then... it feels really good...

some feel..... that they actually make a difference to the society.... and that they are contributing to bigger picture called Idea called India....

and then there are some who try to gain attention form this little media.... and get the zeal of Attention.. and then be happy of all the attention that they got cos... thats all they get.... for the lifetime

but then....actually speaking.... Why a blog....????

why not some other media.... hmmm ...
???

when i gave it a thought... media's available are those like TV, newspaper, journals... magaznes.. radio... and may be a website... but then... trying to get coverage... anywhere here..needs some or the other funds to start... and in the end you may or may not get success.... of actually putting your stuff out there....

but BLOG... the easiest most way... makes you look cool.... and then you have your own space... needs no funding..no management issue... no NOTHNG...

its the WAY to get noticed... and heard.... WHAT SAY????

hmm... so here im... an innocent person trying to get heard.... and now a BLOGGER for a very tiny reason....

but yeah... i have my space and my opinions... and then i have certain....ppl to back too... so WAY to go....and ALL THUMBS UP for the blogs all around.... and to all BLOGGERS.... . kip Blogging....

:)
Ciao fr nw!!!!

A worrysome trend...

Friday was an eye-opener for me. I have been shaken to the core. I read an obituary on my company's intranet portal about a 24 year young guy, who died of heart attack. 24 year young guy dying of heart attack... What's happening? No doubt this shook me completely but there was also something else that hit me hard. The fact is that over the last one month, I have read 5 obituaries on my company's intranet portal and the average age of those guys is around 25 years. Except for 1 case, which was a case of accident, the cause of death for others was - High BP, stress, heart attack. It makes me wonder - what am I doing with my life. All I do is warm the chair all day long and bang the keyboard. And not just me, there are countless others just like me. We stress ourselves no extent. And what do we get in return - pay hike, promotion, appreciation... But at what cost - health and life? I am not saying that I don't want to die or that I am scared of dying. My point is - why do quite a few of us (I assume there are a few guys, if not more, in IT who do not lead such a sedimentary lifestyle) put ourselves in a position where we risk ourselves, our health and our life.

I can understand if we sacrifice our life at such a young age while doing something for the country or if we sacrifice our life for someone. But this is not the case. These youngsters are working to earn a living, to support their family. And what happens to the family??? I dread to think of this.

Reading all this has made me think - what am I doing and why am I doing this???